Pizza rolls

pizzarondjesklaarOne of my resolutions for this year Is to eat more home made lunches. Especially when I need to travel for work and I am at a railway station or petrol station I tend to buy snacks for lunch. Expensive and, though I do not go for the really unhealthy stuff, not as healthy as it could be.

So I am on a quest to find some home-made snacks which can be frozen and taken out of the freezer in the morning, to be ready to eat at lunch.

On the Internet I found an idea which I had thought of myself. But on this blog I read about these roles being frozen and used for lunch. So I am going to give it a try.

pizzarondjesFirst I made up some ‘standard dough’ of 300 g of flour (of which 200 g organic wholemeal and 100 g strong wheat), 1, 5 tsp of instant yeast, 0.75 tsp of salt and 180 mL of water. I put my Panasonic breadmaker to the pizza program and while the machine was kneading I prepared a simple sauce: one medium-size onion, one small clove of garlic sautéed in a pan, I added some canned

pizzarondjesrijzen

tomatoes and Italian herbs. All except the olive oil and herbs was homegrown.

I rolled out the dough into a flat square and topped it with the sauce. I also added some grated cheese.

Next I rolled up the square and cut it in to 2 cm wide slices, which I placed on a tray. I left everything to rise over the next half hour and then put the first tray in a preheated oven for 15 minutes.  They are delicious. Time will tell how well they will taste after having been frozen and thawed.

PS: Delicious!

1 reactie

  1. Gavin said,

    12 januari 2009 bij 13:54

    Thanks for dropping by on my blog Jandra. I hope you liked the pizza scroll recipe!

    Gav


Geef een reactie

