Growing garlic

I had no idea, before starting my allotment, that a mediterranean crop like garlic would grow here in the Netherlands. But it does; last year I had a modest crop of garlic from cloves bought at the market (originating in China). I planted them in November.garlic.jpgThis season November (and indeed December, January and February) passed without me getting to plant garlic. But last Sunday I put some garlic in, grown from cloves from the organic shop in pots and about 4 inches high. There’s more to come, as I still have some crowns of garlic which are proper prganic planting material. And intended for planting in spring. Hopefully I’ll get a good crop this year, despite me being late.

The garlic isgrown on slightly elevated ridges, ‘cause it doesn’t like the wet feet it would otherwise get in my clay soil garden.

Geef een reactie

